INFJ: Or, The Quest to Unravel the Mind

via Daily Prompt: Unravel

As previously mentioned, I am an INFJ personality type, which is one of the rarest in the world. Because of my introverted intuition, I quietly observe things that most people don’t even pay attention to. I also make connections in weird ways that other people wouldn’t normally draw connections to. Here are a few examples:

When In Public

When I’m out and about, shopping, at an amusement park, or even driving, I notice small, subtle things that others don’t. One of the biggest things I notice is when someone wants to get over when I am driving. They don’t have their turn signals on, they’re making literally no indication whatsoever that they intend to get over, but I can always tell that they will do so within a few miles–usually, just by the way they hang back or maneuver their car in general. And 90% of the time, I’m right. Also, they typically don’t use their turn signals when they finally do decide to change lanes.

Another thing I do when I’m out in public is notice particular attributes of people or things, or even places. For instance, “that girl in the food court has a Macbook, I want a Macbook, I think I’ll save up and get one.” Or, “hey, look, that guy looks like Jesse Spencer (doctor Chase Cameron from House, M.D.)!” True story, I saw a guy in the mall who looked just like him the other day.

I also observe more subtle things. For instance, if I’m eating in a food court in the mall and someone gets up from their table a few rows down from me, I can see that. I see everything that they do. And I’m not being creepy about it, it’s just me observing. If the same person gets up five times in a row to get a napkin, I notice it and then look for the inevitable mess, or else try to figure out what’s going on. It’s strange, but that’s how we INFJs think.

In Conversation

Another strange way in which I make connections is that when I am having a conversation with someone, I often will relate things that I’ve seen or heard or read to whatever it is we’re talking about. It usually makes sense, but my coworkers in particular often say, “how did you make that connection with what we were talking about?” Or “what does that even have to do with this conversation?” This usually leads to a more in-depth explanation about why I thought it made sense, followed by some pretty strange looks.

One example of this: I don’t remember the conversation at all, but somehow, I went off on a tangent about The Matrix, and in my mind, it perfectly related to what we were talking about. My friends were very confused, but it made sense to me, and I ended up being able to explain it in a way that made sense.

Here’s an even better example of how I’m actually thinking during a conversation:

Coworker #1: “My wife and I went to this really neat shop yesterday. They had all kinds of antiques, many of them pre-Civil-War. It was pretty cool!”

Coworker #2: “Wow! Pre-Civil-War era? That’s cool! What kind of stuff was in there?”

Coworker #1: “Mostly old guns, a few pieces of military insignia, old American flags, stuff like that.”

Me: (In my mind: “Wow, that’s pretty awesome! I’d love to see that! The old guns, the flags, and the military uniforms all sound neat! Oh! You know what else is cool? The movie, Glory, with Denzel Washington, and Matthew Broderick. I wonder if they had anything like what was used in the movie!”)

Me: (Out loud) “That sounds awesome! I really like stuff like that, especially from what I saw in Glory!”

Coworker #1: “What does that have to do with anything?”

Me: “Well, Glory is about the Civil War, I just thought maybe the shop would have some of the stuff similar to what was used in the movie.”

Coworker #2: “You do know that the movie was made just a few years ago, right? And that the Civil War was a few hundred years ago? The stuff they used in the movie is nothing like what was in the antique shop.”

Me: “Well of course it wouldn’t be the same stuff they used in the movie, what I’m getting at is that some of what they used in the movie may have been similar in design to the real thing. I’d like to see it sometime, that’s all.”

These conversations usually end up leaving people confused or thinking that I am reading way too much into something. Which I probably am, but that’s my mind for you.

Well, that about sums it up for today. My mind is WAY too complex to unravel in just a space of a few minutes. However, if you’d like to continue on this journey with me, stick around for some additional blog posts, as there will most likely be plenty more on this subject later.

Leave a Reply

