Jolted Awake

via Daily Prompt: Jolt

This morning, I was jolted awake. I had come out of a dream, my cat was meowing far too early, wanting us to play, and I was not happy. Now, while I was already awake because of this, I wasn’t quite aware of my surroundings yet. Being overly tired, sometimes I think I see things that aren’t really there, or the things that are there look different than what they really are.

The bedroom door was open so the cat could come and go as she pleased, which is fine, that’s normal. I looked over and saw the glowing red light coming from the fish tank out in the living room, and I jumped a little. Why? Well, at the time, I didn’t realize what it was, so it looked like the doorway was filled with a red light, and it was…a little unsettling, to say the least. In reality, it was just the light from the volcano my husband had put in the fish tank a few weeks ago. I hadn’t put my glasses on yet, and just happened to look over that direction and saw the doorway flooded with red light. So yes, it startled me. But I got a little bit of a laugh out of it after I realized what it was.

Leave a Reply

