Avid: Things That I Really Love

via Daily Prompt: Avid

I am an avid lover of many, many things. Rather than write separate blog posts about them, I thought I’d share each of the things that I enjoy here.

#1. Anime

Yes, I am a huge fan of anime. I also love cosplaying, but that is a separate post for another time. Anyway, here’s an overview of some of my favorite animes:

Clannad & Clannad: After Story

If you want an anime that is filled with moments that will make you laugh, reminisce, relate to the characters, and bawl like a baby, then this is definitely the one for you. It follows the story of Tomoya Okazaki and Nagisa Furukawa as their relationship develops from friendship, to dating, to marriage. Nagisa is sick all the time, so she and Tomoya have to deal with that and make the best of it. This is a story of love, happiness, school adventures, and sadness all rolled into one. I won’t give anything away, but you definitely need to check this out. In my opinion, this is one of the best animes of all time.

ItaKiss

ItaKiss

ItaKiss, often known as “Itazura Na Kiss” (translates to “Mischevious Kiss” in English), is probably my second favorite anime of all time. This is also a love story, but unlike Clannad, it’s a romantic comedy, rather than a dramatic comedy. The main character, Kotoko, is a bit of a klutz, and she is desperately trying to impress her fellow classmate, Naoki Irie, who happens to be the smartest kid in the class. At first, Naoki (almost always referred to in the series as “Irie-kun”) finds Kotoko annoying, and dismisses her advances altogether. In fact, he’s the character you love to hate, as he can be downright mean to her at times. However, as time progresses, he learns to love her, and it becomes a very cute, very sweet story.

Sword Art Online

SAO

Of course, you can’t forget Sword Art Online. I’ve watched both seasons so far, and I absolutely love it! It’s a combination of The Matrix, The Hunger Games, and many other interesting movies. It’s a futuristic show about a video game that traps players inside of it, and they have to fight to the death to make their way out of it. There’s just one catch: if you die in the game, you die in real life. Can protagonists Kirito and Asuna make it out alive? You’ll have to watch this epic anime to find out.

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is one of the best action/sci-fi animes of its time. First, it borrows from The Matrix, but it is a lot more than that. Cybernetic bodies are becoming more and more prominent, and it is getting to a point where it’s hard to tell who’s the human and who’s the cyborg. The Major (Motoko Kusanagi), is the most prominent character in the show, and she is a member of a classified police force known as Section 8. She goes on top secret missions, collects research, and more. In general, the show is fast-paced and gripping. Definitely a must-watch for all action and sci-fi fans!

#2. Horses

The second thing that I am an avid fan of is horses. Specifically, Arabian horses. I think that they are absolutely the most beautiful horse breed around. I would love to own one some day. As if that’s not enough, I collect Breyer Horses, and I have all kinds of books and movies about horses. Heck, I even like to play horse video games.

#3. Photography

I love photography! Everything about it. I’m an amateur, but I hope to be a professional one day. I’m working on honing my skills, and I feel like I’m getting better all the time. Now to just get a professional camera.

#4. House M.D. and The Office

These are two shows that I could binge-watch all over again. First, you’ve got House M.D., the brilliant, yet extremely unorthodox doctor. No one will fire him, because he’s the best diagnostician in the state of New Jersey. This show is a drama, with lots of romance and emotional moments. If you want a show that is extremely relatable and will make you laugh and cry, often in the same episode, then this is the best show for you.

Motorcycle Details
Seen on allwallpapersfree.blogspot.com

The Office is also an amazing show. This is by far one of my favorites, and I actually watched it before House. I bought the whole series of The Office on DVD, it’s that good. of course, I plan to buy House on DVD/Blu-Ray as well, but that’ll come a bit later. As for the office, it’s a sit-com/drama about life in an office building. You follow the lives of Pam, Angela, Oscar, Kevin, Dwight, Meredith, Phyllis, Stanley, and many others, along with their eccentric boss: Michael Scott. While the show can be inappropriate at times, it is quite funny, and just the thing to watch if you’ve got nothing planned on a weekend, if you want something good to watch, or if you’re looking to watch something while you’re at home sick. Dwight Schrute is by far the best character in the show, though it is the chemistry between Jim and Pam that really makes the show, at least in my opinion.

Dwight Schrute

These are just a few of the things that I am an avid lover of. Who knows? I may post another “avid” post later on.

 

 

Leave a Reply

