Things I Need to Get Better at

via Daily Prompt: Better

I am all about improving myself. In fact, it’s one of the reasons why I am starting this new job in about a week. I wanted to do something that actually related to my career aspirations, goals, and skills. Of course, I also wanted more time to spend with my family, and the hours offered by that job definitely afford me that time. Therefore, I am over the moon and extremely ecstatic about the job! That being said, there are still other things I need to get better at in my personal life, and I am hoping that you, the readers, will walk this journey with me just as God does, and help me grow just as he does.

1. Spending More Time with Friends

I feel bad because I don’t get to spend a lot of time with my friends, whether that is through texting, talking on the phone, or even physically going out to spend time with them. Granted, I try to make an effort, but often, with my work schedule at my current employer, I am either working when they want to plan things, or I get off work so late every night of the week that I just want to relax on the weekends. This new job should be able to help me to do that, because I’ll only be working 8-5 on the weekdays, and not at all on the weekends.

2. Sending Out Cards

I’ve never really been much of a card sender. That’s ironic, because I am a letter writer, or at least, I try to be. However, I have one friend (a former co-worker) who had to move back to Florida, and she has been sending me cards for various things over the past few months. It really inspired me to start sending everyone cards when I hear about their life events. Whether the event merits a sympathy card, thinking of you card, congratulations card, etc. I want to send them out. I also want my husband and I to start sending Christmas cards out to people. I think small gestures like this really serve to show people you care, especially when there are people in your life that you care about deeply, but don’t always get the chance to see them or spend time with them.

3. Spacing the Laundry Out Over the Week

This one isn’t necessarily my fault. I often have to put off doing the laundry until a day off because of my work schedule at my current employer. However, now with this new job starting, I can at least do a load or even half a load when I get off work each day. Between my husband and I, we produce a lot of laundry throughout the week. I often joke about the meme that says, “with the amount of laundry I do each week, I’m starting to wonder if more than two people live here.” But it shouldn’t be nearly as much of a chore now with my work schedule, so I can do it more often.

4. Reading the Bible

This last one is extremely important to me. I feel like sometimes, my time with God gets neglected, because of how busy or tired that I am. So sometimes, weeks or even months go by without me opening the Bible at all. I don’t like that. I desperately need that time with God, and I crave it, especially when I’m saturated by the world all day long. When I don’t get to spend time with God, I often feel sad, and I feel distanced from him. Another perk of this new job is that I will be able to go to church every Sunday, so no more missing church services. And, I can either read the Bible before or after work, or even just devote some time on a Saturday and/or Sunday to do it. I believe this will strengthen my relationship with God even more, and thus will help me to grow deeper in my faith.

These are just a few of the things that I want to get better at. I am praying that God will help me with each of these. Will you, the readers, also help remind me to do these things, especially if you see me posting about them? Thank you all!

 

Leave a Reply

