My Pursuit of Happiness

via Daily Prompt: Pursue

True happiness has always been something that has seemed to elude me, except for fleeting moments of bliss. That being said, there are things and people in my life that continue to make me happy. For starters, Christ makes me completely happy. He is my one true rock and source of life. To him be the glory and power forever, amen! Next, of course, is my wonderful husband. As long as we are together, I know I am loved and protected, and life is good. He is another amazing source of happiness and strength for me. Finally, my kitty, Saber. She makes me happy when I come through the door after work, because she is bright-eyed, bushy-tailed, and wanting to see me and play with me! She also likes to curl up on my lap and sleep there while I watch TV on my days off. Whose heart wouldn’t melt over that?

Of course, while all of these things make me completely happy, there are also areas of life that I have been unhappy. I have felt like I have wanted to make a difference for so long, and instead, felt as though I was simply moving from one meaningless task to another. However, finally, finally, I am moving into a position that will allow me to make a difference. It will be a subtle, behind-the-scenes difference, but that’s just fine with me, because I know that what I will be doing is actually important, and actually helps people get the care they need.

I have also felt like, due to my long work hours, I have been neglecting to spend time with the people that I care about. This will not be an issue any longer, and thus, will make me happier, as I can continue to cultivate these relationships and show people how much I really do care.

Finally, I don’t have to worry about getting screamed at by customers anymore, or put into stressful situations that could impact everyone in the company. This job is a desk job, a cubicle job, on a computer, editing documents, and that is exactly the way that I like it. It’s what I’m good at, it’s something I’m passionate about, and something that I could definitely see myself doing for years to come. Only seven more days til I start. I can’t wait! I’m so excited! This, then, as well as continuing to bond with Christ, my husband, and my kitty cat, is my pursuit of happiness, and I am glad that I am on this path. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

