A Positive Descent into Happiness

via Daily Prompt: Descend

It isn’t typical that you think of the word “descend” or “descent” as a positive thing, however, in this case, it is. With my new job, I am finally able to be myself. I am not stressed out, and after just three days of being there and them allowing me to be hands-on, I have already learned the ropes and understand the majority of my job. They welcome new opinions, and when you tell them that you found a better way of doing something, other than the way that you are “supposed” to do it, or were taught to do it, they say, “you know, that actually makes sense.” It’s so nice to hear that. I’ve never heard that from any employer  before. Typically, past employers would say, “well, that’s just the way we do things, so you have to do them that way,” or “no, your idea won’t work because XYZ.” It’s not like that here at all. Here, they understand that much of what we do involves a very long process, and so they actually encourage us to find ways of doing it that are quickest for us. Which is nice.

In this job, I can be independent, and left to just do my own work. Sure, someone may come and get a status report from me every once in a while, but I’m OK with that. For the most part, I am generally left alone unless someone wants to show me something, or unless I ask a question, and that is wonderful. Best of all, I’m in my own cubicle, which I can decorate however I want, and I don’t have to answer phones (at least not as of yet,) or talk to the public. That’s great for an introvert like me. I am definitely a people person, but I’m more of a one to three people at a time, kind of person, so an atmosphere like the one I have at my new job is very relaxing for me.

Finally, I have my weekends back! I can take time on Saturday and Sunday to run errands, accomplish tasks I didn’t get a chance to accomplish throughout the week, and I don’t have to miss church anymore! This is perhaps the biggest reason for my happiness, because I have been feeling myself slowly drifting away from where I want to be in my relationship with Christ. I think that being able to go back to church every week will help strengthen and renew that relationship again. Of course, I also have every day of the week after 5:00 PM, or weekends to plan things and go have fun with my husband, my friends, my family members, or anyone else with whom I need to make plans.

In short, this job is absolutely perfect! There’s nothing whatsoever that I don’t like about it. I am loving what I am doing, and I am loving the process and everything about the job, and I have finally, finally found my career. This is the job that I plan to be at until retirement. I love it. I am so inexplicably happy, and I hope to be here for a very, very long time!

2 thoughts on “A Positive Descent into Happiness

  1. Congratulations on your new job. It’s nice to hear that even though you are new to your job, people in the company are open minded. Which I think is very good, because if not what is the purpose they hire a new person and don’t even give them a chance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

