Crisp Bills: A Love-Hate Relationship

via Daily Prompt: Crisp

This post might be a bit odd, but that’s okay, because I am odd. I was inspired by this daily prompt that was posted a few days ago, as it reminded me of my days working retail. I don’t generally carry cash, and when I do, it seems like I either get crisp bills that stick together and are hard to tell apart (in terms of how many I have) or I get severely crumpled ones that look like they’ll disintegrate if you even touch them. However, it’s the crisp bills that I really can’t stand. Here’s why:

Due to the “sticky” nature of crisp bills, it’s hard to tell how many someone has given you at one time. Not only that, but they also feel a lot thicker, so it’s harder to tell if a bill is real or not. When I worked retail, that of course meant that I had to bust out the counterfeit detection marker and mark all the bills, which typically elicited either outrage at my having the audacity to verify the authenticity of the bill, confusion as to what the marker was for, or a stupid joke about the authenticity of the bills. Either way, they just aren’t my favorite. Even when I’m paying with them, I feel weird, because I have to make sure that I have the right amount, so it often takes time to separate them at the checkstand, and I really try my best not to be that customer.

That being said, there’s nothing quite like the feeling of getting a crisp, new bill in your hand. They look nice, they smell nice (yes, I have a thing for smelling paper, I don’t know why), and they’re just fun to look at and use. But they’re frustrating at the same time, so it really is a love-hate relationship.

I don’t know, that’s all I’ve got. This word was weird, as I was originally going to write a post about autumn, but it’s not even summer yet, so….I didn’t want to get too crazy.

Alright, folks, have fun. Stay cool!

 

 

Leave a Reply

