Things I Want to Learn

via Daily Prompt: Educate

Thanks to my INFJ personality type, I am constantly wanting to learn, grow, and change–to better myself in some capacity. I also believe that you should never stop learning until the end of your life. With that said, here’s a list of a few things that I would like to learn within the next ten years:

1. American Sign Language

I love learning languages, and American Sign Language (ASL) has always been one of the most intriguing languages that I would want to learn. Besides that, there’s a real need for it all across the country, and if I can help someone else by utilizing skills in this area, then I think that would be a really great thing. I imagine it would take a year or so to learn, but I think getting the practice would be hard, as I don’t really know anyone who is deaf that I could practice signing with. Maybe a Skype session would work.

2. Guitar

I’ve always had a real interest in learning how to play the guitar. I’ve tried throughout the years with moderate success, but I’ve almost always lost the ability in some capacity. However, I think it would be kind of cool to start up a Christian band or something of the like, and I would like to sing and play guitar. I really want to learn on the electric guitar, but I think that the acoustic electric would be a better place to start. And since I have a Macbook, I have GarageBand, so I can start recording demos. You know, I just have to get a USB microphone and pop filter first.

3. A Wide Array of Recipes

I love cooking, and while I consider myself a pretty good cook, I’d say that I definitely need to learn a few more recipes. If I could memorize at least 20 to 30 recipes, I would say that would be sufficient. Ideally, I’d like to have a few different recipes committed to memory that I could easily pop out and cook for a large group of people. Something that I could do for each season, especially around Christmastime (my favorite time of year).

These are just a few of the things that I would like to learn within the next few years, but I don’t think they’ll take all that long. Just some practice, determination, and some good people to help me.

Leave a Reply

