I’m Interesting: In A Peculiar Sort of Way

via Daily Prompt: Peculiar

As you probably know by now from reading my various other posts, I’m interesting, but in a very peculiar sort of way. I have been perfectly aware of this for years, and I am ok with it. It’s part of what makes me, me. 🙂 So here’s a few ways that you can enjoy my peculiarity:

1. I Like Things Done A Certain Way:

If I’m going to explain a process to you, it’s easier for me to show you or to even just sit down and do it myself. This isn’t because of my lack of patience, but rather, it’s usually because the way that I understand the process is too complicated to explain. I am a visual and auditory learner, so I have to see it and hear it, so it’s easier if I can just do it. If you deviate from that way, it confuses me, even if your way is simpler than mine.

2. I Have to Read Out Loud to Comprehend:

Although I am a very good reader and writer, I need to read out loud in order to fully comprehend exactly what it is I am reading. If I can’t, I may end up having to read the same thing over and over again a few times until I understand what I am reading. Things tend to go more slowly if I read silently, whereas if I read out loud, my comprehension is a lot better, and as a result, I can read far more quickly. This is also why if I need to memorize something, I need to read it out loud and then try repeating it over and over again to myself before I can be “off-book,” “off-text” or whatever else I may need to stop relying on to learn the information.

3. I Am A Walking Encyclopedia of Random Information:

Ever have one of those friends who’s good at trivia nights? That’s me, at least, for the most part. I am a walking encyclopedia of random information that no one really cares about, but it may very well come in handy one day. I love knowledge, I love absorbing information and learning new things, even if they’re not necessarily things that I would want to know. I read the bottom of Snapple lids, I retain certain information from commercials, TV shows, etc.

4. I Have Weird Habits

I just have weird habits, like checking to make sure I’ve turned off (or on) everything, even if I already checked it. For example, I may have checked to see if my alarm is on for the next day when I need to get up for work, but then I’ll check again to make sure that I didn’t accidentally turn it off while I was double-checking. Lol. I’m so weird.

So I guess you could say that I’m essentially the perfect combination of two memes: Socially-Awkward Penguin and Anxiety Cat. But yet, I’m ok with that. I love my strange, peculiar nature, and frankly, I wouldn’t have my personality any other way.

Leave a Reply

