Five Things that Don’t Belong on Social Media

As I continue to read the posts on many social media sites, I see an alarming trend of things that are…annoying, to say the least. Now, normally, I am by no means the type of person to tell others what they can and can’t post online. However, there are at least five things that don’t belong there, and here’s the list:

1. Vague, Drama Posts

Posts that are vague and are meant specifically to seek attention should be avoided at all costs. I can’t tell you how many times I have seen someone post something along the lines of, “That’s it, I’m so done helping people!” And then someone comments, “what happened?” and the OP replies: “message me.” If you’re not publicly willing to share the events surrounding your frustration, then why are you posting the drama behind it. I get the need to vent, but maybe in that situation, private message a couple of people, rather than airing your dirty laundry all over the internet.

2. Chain Letters

Chain letters are just annoying, and there isn’t exactly a point to them. No one is going to die if they don’t share a message with 64 of their closest friends, or miraculously find true love or come into extra money for doing so. I also really despise those chain posts that say, “like and share if you aren’t ashamed of Jesus,” or “if you don’t like and share this, you are heartless.” I’m sorry, but my relationship with God does not depend on whether or not I reblog/repost a social media status. God isn’t going to reject me because I didn’t share a status about him. And just because I don’t share a status about a tragic event doesn’t mean I’m heartless…it just means that it’s a post that has been circulating for a while, and sharing it isn’t really going to do anything other than just show solidarity with the person mentioned in the post.

3. Posts that Publicly Call Out/Shame those on Your Friends List by Name

Another post that I have seen a lot of recently are those that say: “John Smith, you are going to be in a world of trouble when my crew catches up with you,” or something along these lines. Perhaps the people posting them are just trying to be “cool” or “ghetto,” or whatever. However, there’s really no point to doing this, and it’s still a form of airing drama. What purpose does it serve?

4. Things You Don’t Want People to Comment On

I get that we all post things that we like/agree with/support, but we shouldn’t be surprised if someone who disagrees with our viewpoint chooses to comment on what we post. If we don’t want to engage in discussion with someone about it, then we shouldn’t be posting it at all, or if we’re going to post it, we should disable comments for that post (if we’re able to). I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen someone post, “What does everyone think about…(insert random subject/topic here)” and then I give my viewpoint, which is in contrast to what the OP believes, and then they get angry at me or tell me to stop commenting. Again, if you’re not open to opposition or comments, you probably shouldn’t be posting.

5. Gullible “Just In Case” Type Posts

Another form of chain letter, I refer to these as “gullible posts” or “just in case” posts, due to the comments that I’ve seen being made from the people who post them. First of all, there’s the post that says something to the effect of “according the Rome council….I do not give my permission for Facebook to use my information.” Great, but there’s two problems. First of all, Facebook is based out of the United States. Roman laws have no effect or jurisdiction on the company. Secondly, you automatically consent to Facebook using your information the minute you make an account and click “I have read and agree to the terms of service.” So if you truly didn’t want them using your information, or weren’t aware of it/ok with it in some capacity, you either wouldn’t have a Facebook account to begin with, or you should be considering deleting it. Then of course, there’s the “IT’S TRUE, FACEBOOK WILL BEGIN CHARGING NEXT YEAR, UNLESS YOU SHARE THIS!” Again, NO! What amount of common sense escapes the people who share these posts? Facebook staff themselves have said that Facebook is free and always will be, and not to believe these chain messages. Furthermore, if Facebook were going to start charging, it certainly wouldn’t exempt people just because they shared a post. Seriously! Where’s the logic in that?

So in short, if we all can stop creating/sharing these types of posts, we will help solve the problem that we see on social media on a regular basis, and we can make social media just a little more enjoyable…especially for daily users.

Leave a Reply

